Member Meeting Minutes for January 16, 2013

From HackPittsburgh Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Minutes by Agenda Topic

  • Attendees:
    • Scott^2
    • Scott
    • Sarita
    • Matt B
    • Jay Pee
    • Gabe
    • Bob
  • Called to order at:

7:31

Visitors

  • Bryant
  • Christopher

New Members

  • None (Frowny Face)

External Collaborations

Recent Events

  • Wed Jan 2: Member Meeting
  • Thu Jan 3: Pittsburgh Lockpick Club plus Steel City Hackers
  • Fri Jan 4: Social Entrepreneurship
  • Tue Jan 8: Open Source Fabrication
  • Fri Jan 11: Intro to High Performance Computing with GPUs
  • Mon Jan 14: UAV Working Group

Upcoming Events

  • Fri Jan 18: Magnetic Levitation
  • Fri Jan 25: FiniSH IT Friday
  • Fri Feb 1: DIY Snow Machines (Gabe)
  • Thu Feb 7: Pittsburgh Geek Night
  • Fri Feb 8: Lego and Arduino Projects (Matt B)
  • Fri Feb 15: Intro to resistors, capacitors, component labeling (JayPee & Sarita)
  • Sat Feb 16: Techshop Maker's Meetup
  • Sat Feb 16: Wreckless Arcade Tournament
  • Sun Feb 17: Q1 Shop Cleanup (Electronics Area)
  • Fri Feb 22: FiniSH IT Friday
  • Sat Feb 23: CLASS: Design your own circuit boards (Matt B)
  • Potential Friday Night talks/events:
    • Intro to resistors, capacitors, component labeling
    • Hard drive rescue
    • Costuming
    • Flat panel speakers
    • Shop Show-and-Tell (Quarterly) (mid March)
    • Intro to Ham Radio/Test Prep (early March)

Unscheduled Classes

  • Public welding class
  • Ham radio test (late March/April)
  • CNC milling
  • Q1 Learn to Solder (March)

Project/Shop Updates

  • Window Lights project - lights acquired, to be placed in window "soon"?
  • Electronics Workstation - next steps?
    • Need to organize electronics components
  • 3D Printer
    • Finishing build: Valve time frame - it's done when it's done
  • Server Rack

New Business

  • Make Magazine subscription
  • Carnegie Library "Learn to Solder" classes proposal for summertime

Meeting Adjourned 8:07