Member Meeting Minutes for February 20, 2013

From HackPittsburgh Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Minutes by Agenda Topic

  • Attendees:
    • Doug
    • Scott'
    • Scott^2
    • Forest
    • Jaypee
    • Jeremy
    • Sarita
    • Dan
    • Anthony
    • Gene Kern
    • Shane VanNest


  • Called to order at:

7:30pm

New Members

  • Gene Kern
    • Retired software engineer
  • TP
  • Shane VanNest
    • Artist, sculptor
    • Interested in Synthesizers

Recent Events

  • Thu Feb 7: Pittsburgh Geek Night
  • Thu Feb 7: Lockpick Club / Steel City Hackers
    • Groups may become combined
  • Fri Feb 8: Lego and Arduino Projects (Matt B)
  • Mon Feb 11: UAV Meetup
    • "Flight capable" machines!
    • Will likely increase to twice a month
    • Scott' looking into Ardupilot group discount
  • Tue Feb 12: Open Source Fab Meetup
  • Fri Feb 15: Intro to resistors, capacitors, component labeling (JayPee & Sarita)
  • Sat Feb 16: Techshop Maker's Meetup (Tentative)
  • Sat Feb 16: Wreckless Arcade Tournament
  • Sun Feb 17: Q1 Shop Cleanup (Electronics Area)
    • KEEP IT CLEAN!!!

Upcoming Events

  • Fri Feb 22: Finish It Friday
  • Sat Feb 23: CLASS: Design your own circuit boards (Matt B)
  • Fri Mar 1: Intro to Ham Radio
  • Fri Mar 8: Hack Challenge
  • Fri Mar 15: FIRST visit and after party
  • Fri Mar 22: Finish It Friday
  • Fri Mar 29: Shop Show-and-Tell
  • Potential Friday Night talks/events:
    • Hard drive rescue
    • Costuming
    • Flat panel speakers
    • Shop Show-and-Tell (Quarterly) (mid March)
    • Intro to Ham Radio/Test Prep (early March)
    • Reverse engineering
    • Stepper motor hack challenge

Unscheduled Classes

  • Public welding class
  • Ham radio test (late March/April)
  • CNC milling
  • Q1 Learn to Solder (March) - March
  • Intro to processing

Project/Shop Updates

  • Window Lights project - lights acquired, to be placed in window "soon"?
  • Electronics Workstation - next steps?
    • Need to organize electronics components
  • 3D Printer
    • Finishing build: Valve time frame - it's done when it's done
  • Server Rack
    • coming along, is powered, will be available for member's use
  • Make Magazine subscription
  • Security cameras
    • DVR, Hard Drive, and Power Supply obtained
  • FIRST Robotics Competition

New Business

Ben Peoples has been contacted about potential CMU affiliated Hackerspace Vote for current council to remain: Motion PASSES